Ford Assembly election results 2017
  • Akamai
  • CP Plus

Uttarakhand election results: BJP headed for historic mandate, Harish Rawat loses from both seats

BJP is set to unseat Congress in Uttarakhand with the saffron party leading on 58 seats in the 70-member Assembly.
Uttarakhand CM Harish Rawat loses from both seats...
India TV Politics Desk New Delhi March 11, 2017 13:31 IST

The Bhartiya Janta Party (BJP) has successfully unseated the Congress in Uttarakhand with the saffron party leading on 58 seats in the 70-member Assembly. 

Ruling Congress was racing ahead in 10 seats with Chief Minister Harish Rawat set to lose from both the seats he contested. 

According to the Election Commission website, out of 70 seats, results of two seats have been declared with both BJP and Congress securing win at one seat each. Independents were leading on two seats. 

Harish Rawat lost Haridwar (Rural) seat to BJP's Yatishwaranand by over 12,000 votes. He was also trailing by over 1700 votes in Kichcha, the other seat he was contesting. 

Congress veteran Indira Hridayesh is also trailing in Haldwani.

Most of the Congress turncoats trying their luck as BJP nominees this time including Harak Singh Rawat, Subodh Uniyal, Rekha Arya, Saurav Bahuguna, Pradeep Batra, Yashpal Arya and Kunwar Pranav Singh Champion are leading in their respective seats barringShailendra Mohan Singhal and Shailarani Rawat who are trailing in Jaspur and Kedarnath constituencies respectively.

BJP nominees Munna Singh Chauhan,Ganesh Joshi, Vinod Chamoli, Harbans Kapoor, Khajan Singh and Rajesh Shukla are also leading in their seats.

BJP's Ritu Khanduri, Kedar Singh, Satpal Maharaj, Bharat Singh, Rajkumar Thukral, Yatishwaranand, Madan Kaushik, Dhan Singh Rawat, Dhan Singh Negi, Magan Lal Shah, Narayan Singh Rana are all leading in their respective seats.


You May Like


More from politics