President, VP Naidu, PM Modi hail women hockey team's Asia Cup win

Indian Women’s hockey team created history as they beat China in a tense shootout to lift Asia Cup title after 13 years and qualify for next year’s World Cup as Continental Champions.
Women's Asia Cup Hockey 2017 Source: HOCKEY INDIA
Edited by: India TV Sports Desk New Delhi November 05, 2017 20:56 IST

President Ram Nath Kovind, Vice President M Venkaiah Naidu and Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Sunday hailed the victory of the Indian women's hockey team over China in the Asia Cup. 

"Congratulate Indian Women's Hockey Team for winning Asia Cup, beating China, after 13 years," Naidu tweeted. 

The prime minister said on Twitter, "India is delighted by their stellar performance." 

In Kakamigahara in Japan, goalkeeper Savita produced a stunning save in a tense shootout as India won the Asia Cup to secure qualification in next year's hockey World Cup following a nerve-wracking win over China in the final.

The team broke a 13-year-old jinx when skipper Rani scored the final goal and Savita foiled an attempt from the rivals to ensure a 5-4 win. 

India had failed to qualify for the last World Cup and finished ninth in the 2010 edition. 

Rani scored twice while Monica, Lilima Minz and Navjot scored a goal each in the shootout. 

Earlier, it was Navjot Kaur who scored India's lone goal in the 25th minute while China found a late equaliser through Tiantian Luo, who converted a penalty corner in the 47th minute. 

It was in 2004 when the Indian women's team had clinched the Asia Cup trophy by beating Japan 1-0 in Delhi. 

Savita was adjudged Goalkeeper of the Tournament for his impressive showing in the continental tournament. 

The men's team had also emerged Asia Cup champions early this year.

(With PTI Inputs)

Chunav Manch Gujarat 2017
killer smog

You May Like


More from sports